31.12.2016
In the coming New 2017 year we wish you that flame-colored cock bring you good luck, happiness and bright and positive impressions during your traveling. More >>

31.12.2015
In the last day of the year we wish you Happy New 2016 Year, the year of energetic and cheerful monkey. More >>

16.10.2015
16 October 2015 was stolen the monument to the famous Russian actor Yevgeny Leonov. More >>

21.02.2015
On 16 February 2015 on two months the Lenin`s Mausoleum was closed for the routine maintenance. More >>

07.02.2015
At the end of the January 2015 the museum-experimentanium moved to the new place. More >>



General Interesting places

Kazan Cathedral

Kazan Cathedral

ountry: Russia

Locality: Saint Petersburg

Nearest metro station: Nevsky Prospekt

Established: 1811

Architect: Voronikhin A.N.

 

Kazan CathedralKazan Cathedral is one of the biggest building in the Saint Petersburg. Per order of the Emperor of Russia Paul I the cathedral was built resembling to the St. Peters Basilica in Rome. For the this on the north facade the architect built a colonnade from ninety-six columns. The colonnade is made in a semicircle. At the east side of the colonnade there is a monument to the Field Marshal Mikhail Illarionovich Golenishchev-Kutuzov and at the west side of the colonnade there is a monument to another Field Marshal Michael Andreas Barclay de Tolly. Also, next to the north façade there are forth sculptures: to Andrew the Apostle, to John the Baptist, to Vladimir the Great and to Alexander Nevsky.

Kazan CathedralThe feature of the Cathedral is that per Orthodox canon the entrance to the cathedral must located on the west side and the altar on the east side, that is why the cathedral stands sideways to the main street of Saint Petersburg, Nevsky Prospekt. But the building front colonnade helped to solve this problem. From the south side of the cathedral also planned to build similar colonnade but this part of the project wasnt realized.

Photo Gallery >>

Creation history

Kazan CathedralTill 1801 on this place was the church of the Nativity of the Virgin which by this time had already decayed. That is why in 1799 the Emperor of Russia Paul I announced a competition for the best project of new cathedral. The first place took the project of the architect Voronikhin A.N. and in 1801 was started the building of the cathedral. In 1811 the building was finished. For this job, Andrey Nikiforovich Voronikhin was awarded by Order of Saint Vladimir.

How to find

Kazan CathedralGo to the metro station Nevsky Prospektand exit to Nevsky Prospekt next to Griboyedov Canal. When you will exit to the street youll immediately see Kazan Cathedral. You should just cross Nevsky Prospektand and cross Griboyedov Canal by the Kazan bridge and you next to the Kazan Cathedral.

Discuss.


:

Куда пойти
погулять

31.12.2016
В наступающем новом 2017 году желаем, чтобы огненный петух принес вам удачи, счастья и ярких и позитивных впечатлений во время путешествий. Подробнее >>

31.12.2015
В последний день уходящего хотим поздравить вас с наступлением 2016 года, года энергичной и веселой обезьяны. Подробнее >>

16.10.2015
16 Октября 2015 был украден памятник народному артисту Советского Союза Евгению Леонову. Подробнее >>

21.02.2015
С 16 февраля 2015 на два месяца мавзолей Ленина закрыли для проведения плановых профилактических работ. Подробнее >>

07.02.2015
В конце января 2015 года интереснейший интерактивный музей науки Экспериментаниум переехал на новое место. Подробнее >>



Главная » Интересные места

Казанский кафедральный собор

Казанский кафедральный собор

Страна: Россия

Город: Санкт-Петербург

Ближайшее метро: Невский проспект

Сдан: 1811 г.

Архитектор: Воронихин А.Н.

 

Казанский кафедральный соборКазанский кафедральный собор является одним из самых больших зданий в Санкт-Петербурге. По желанию императора Павла I собор был построен похожим на собор святого Петра в Риме. Для этого архитектором перед северным фасадом, обращенного на Невский проспект, была построена колоннада из девяносто шести колон. Колоннада выполнена полукругом. У восточной стороны колоннады установлен памятник Михаилу Иларионовичу Кутузову, а у западного края установлен памятник Михаилу Барклаю-де-Толли. Также у северного фасада установлены скульптуры: Андрея Первозванного, Иоанна Крестителя, князя Владимира и Александра Невского.

Казанский кафедральный соборОсобенность собора заключается в то, что согласно православным канонам вход в храм должен находиться на западе, а алтарь на востоке, из-за этого собор стоит боком к главной улице Санкт-Петербурга, Невскому проспекту. Однако строительство парадной колоннады позволило решить задачу с расположением собора. По задумке архитектора перед южным фасадом должна была быть возведена колоннада, идентичная северной, но проект не был реализован до конца.

Посмотреть все фотографии >>

История создания

Казанский кафедральный соборДо 1801 года на месте современного Казанского собора находилась церковь Рождество-Богородицы, которая к этому времени уже обветшала. Поэтому императором Павлом I в 1799 году был объявлен конкурс на лучший проект собора. В конкурсе выиграл проект архитектора Воронихина и уже в 1801 году началось строительство. В 1811 году строительство собора было завершено. За этот проект архитектор Андрей Николаевич Воронихин был награжден орденом Святого Владимира 4-й степени.

Как добраться

Казанский кафедральный соборПриезжаете на станцию Невский проспект и выходите на Невский проспект к каналу Грибоедова. Выйдя на улицу, вы сразу увидите это величественное здание собора. Вам остается только перейти Невский проспект и перейдя канал Грибоедова по Казанскому мосту, и вы у Казанского кафедрального собора.

Обсудить на форуме.


Поделиться: